Tuesday, September 2, 2014

DFS Namespaces and DFS Replication Overview

Applies To: Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2012 R2

This topic discusses the DFS Namespaces (DFSN or DFS-N) and DFS Replication (DFSR or DFS-R) role services, which together comprise Distributed File System (DFS) in Windows Server 2012 R2 and Windows Server 2012. This topic discusses how to install DFS, what’s new, and where to find evaluation and deployment information.
Did you mean…

Role service descriptions

DFS Namespaces and DFS Replication are role services in the File and Storage Services role.
  • DFS Namespaces   Enables you to group shared folders that are located on different servers into one or more logically structured namespaces. Each namespace appears to users as a single shared folder with a series of subfolders. However, the underlying structure of the namespace can consist of numerous file shares that are located on different servers and in multiple sites.
  • DFS Replication   Enables you to efficiently replicate folders (including those referred to by a DFS namespace path) across multiple servers and sites. DFS Replication uses a compression algorithm known as remote differential compression (RDC). RDC detects changes to the data in a file, and it enables DFS Replication to replicate only the changed file blocks instead of the entire file.

No comments:

Post a Comment